The Convention on Wetlands of International Importance, referred to as the Ramsar Convention, is an intergovernmental treaty that provides the framework for national action and international cooperation for the conservation and wise use of wetlands and their resources. This agreement is most often called the Ramsar Convention, as it was adopted in the Iranian city of Ramsar on February 2nd 1971.

As of February 2nd, 2011, the 40th anniversary of the adoption of the Ramsar Convention, 160 parties had signed the treaty and 1,912 wetland sites had been designated as Wetlands of International Importance or ‘Ramsar Sites’.

The United Kingdom signed the Ramsar Convention on May 5th 1976 and extended the adoption of this treaty to its Overseas Territories including Bermuda. To date the UK has 168 designated Ramsar sites, (more than any other signatory country), 7 of which are in Bermuda.

Designated Ramsar sites in Bermuda